The Gray Area

The Gray Area

Hip Hop. DMX the game.

with 3 comments

After Kanye’s umm….performance….on SNL [re: screaming autotuned whining], I started thinking about my baby, and wife, Hip Hop. Even though technically what he did wasn’t hip hop…[yunno, I’m really not sure it was music either]

The next day, I hear the smartest thing someone’s probably evar said on urban radio.

“someone needs to DMX the game”

Wow. Then I started thinking about it. I go down my list of hardcore mc’s. Hmmm….hardcore. 2008. Nope!

When I say hardcore, I mean Wu-Tang Clan, [pre Takeover] Mobb Deep ,Onyx, RBX, Spice 1, MOP type rappers. Rappers that make you put your headphones, bubble coat and Timberlands on, and trudge to school in the snow to. Rappers that if you met in a dark alley, you would question whether or not you’d leave said alley alive.

not a rapper you could ask “hey, where did you get that multicolored hoodie?”

Then I realized. The era of the hardcore rapper is over. Done.

I don’t know what happened. Hip Hop to me was like school. And every school has to have a bully. Not that I liked bullies, but they kept everything in check. You weeded out the weak rappers, and whoever was brave enough to stay on the playground earned it. Hip Hop without hardcore emcees is like gym class without dodgeball.

Wait…I don’t think they let kids play dodgeball anymore. And that’s the point. Too many rappers are expressing themselves and wearing their heart on their sleeve. That’s cool, i mean. I’m all for artistic advancement. But we need balance. We need a rapper that is in fact, a true tough guy. Not studio manufactured C.O with crack raps, but a true hardcore emcee just cause.

So what does DMX the game mean? Well, back in 97, we had the “shiny suit era” It’s kinda like it is today, but the CGI effects were more primitive. Out from a place called Yonkers was a pit bull carrying, growling on the track, God-praying-to-in-the-middle-of-a-song crazyman. And he was hardcore.

For no reason.

DMX was like the Joker in Dark Knight. And everyone knows that the Joker is awesome. The Joker didn’t do it for the cash. He simple “wanted to see the world burn”. I don’t know if X did it for the money. There was probably something else he did it for; we care not to speculate on his habits.

But there was one thing you could say. This 5’8″ guy would probably smack the shit out of anyone. And it was believable .

He effectively put a stop (okay, yield) to the shiny suit era. He reminded people that Hip Hop is in fact a tough man’s sport. And that with no prior provocation, there were still rappers that would smack the shit out of you.

We need a hardcore damn-near-psycho to remind people of that side of Hip Hop. Someone that you’d actually be afraid of. Someone that would step up and say “no” to autotune. A volatile, unpredictable [skilled] emcee with nothing to lose, except the chip on their shoulder.

but what do I know…Im just a regular average [super]human.

a.i. 2008

Written by Sdot.

December 16, 2008 at 7:59 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. YES! 100% agree (as usual). I seriously still listen to It’s Dark and Hell is Hot at least once a week.

    I think Hip Hop isn’t “dead” or “dying” or whatever we’re saying these days – WE’RE just growing up! Hip Hop is (and always has been) for the kids. Did anyone else’s parents refer to your music as “noise” or “that shit” (as in cut that got-damn noise shit off, boy!). My pops absolutely HATED rap (besides Slam by Onyx…still can’t figure that out).

    But I think we’re going through the same thing now. The genre is evolving, and we’re longing for its glory days, which will probably never return in full force. Looks like we just gotta hold onto our 2Pac tapes and MOP CDs like our parents to their David Ruffin vinyl and Sly and the Family Stone 8-tracks.

    tomdabomb2u

    December 17, 2008 at 5:42 pm

  2. I don’t even think we’re growing up…lol. I think the overall quality is lacking. Trust me, I still spazz the fuck out when I hear a new Premo song. Exactly like I did years ago.

    It’s the talent and quality that’s lacking. There are no superhuman emcees anymore (Big Pun, DMX, Nas, etc…) No one I’m really breaking my neck to hear drop a verse (save for dre 3k).

    There’s also no more of that excitement or tension or unpredictibility in Hip Hop. We know what we’re getting, and we know we’re getting more of it. Well, except for THE RHYMING DICTIONARY, that shit is sweet lol

    Awesomeness Inc.

    December 17, 2008 at 6:38 pm

  3. Some argue that 50 did it a couple years ago. . . what u think bout that??

    TomDaBomb2u

    December 18, 2008 at 6:45 pm


Leave a Reply

